• FONT SIZE

Archives

Since Havergal’s founding in 1894, the school has accumulated a treasure trove of historical materials. These documents, which include works on paper, photographs and other mementos, have historical and enduring value and chronicle the school’s growth over more than a century. The collection was formally recognized in 1997 for Dr. Catherine Steele 1928, Old Girl, former Havergal history teacher and the school’s fourth Principal.

The Dr. Catherine Steele 1928 Archives officially opened in September 2006 and the work of moving the school’s archival materials into their new home, cataloging and organizing them, continues apace.

The Dr. Catherine Steele 1928 Archives is a member of the Canadian Heritage Information Network. Our Archives has developed a Community Memories exhibit as part of the Virtual Museum of Canada — Girls On The Homefront: A Toronto Girls’ School 1894-1945. Established by generous donors, the Archives Endowment Fund helps the school to organize and maintain the collection. In addition to financial contributions, members of the Havergal community are encouraged to donate archival materials to our Archives, including textual records and photographs. For more information about the Endowment or Archives, email info@nullhavergal.on.ca.